In 1910, Domenick De Nigris set out to capture the American dream. Having recently emigrated from Bari, Italy, he was determined to continue the proud family tradition of stonework in his new homeland - the U.S.A. . The De Nigris' had always worked as a family, so he collected his brothers Cosmo, Tony and John, and pooled together what little money he could from his family and friends. Although only in his heart and dreams, he was nurturing the roots of what would become New England's premier monument company.
In those early days, the "shop" was merely a room (with no roof) attached to the family's small home, a bit smaller than our current headquarters. When the family moved to Hunts Point, New York in 1931, they secured a little more breathing room, but still operated without a roof, heat, running water or even bathrooms! In winter, when the crane would freeze from the bitterly cold New England weather, his son Domenick, Jr., would make the treacherous climb up onto the tracks to spread sand. Only by the brothers' strong faith could they see the future fruits of their labor and sacrifice.
Today, our headquarters and factory building stands tall and proud in the Bronx, built brick by brick by the rough hands of the brothers and and their young boys in the 1950's . As the fourth generation of the family takes their place in the company, they are taught the lessons of almost 100 years of experience - to comfort people in time of need, to share in celebrating the lives of people worth remembering, to do work that brings honor to the family members before us, who gave so much of the themselves. Although De Nigris has grown in size, we are dedicated to making the same lasting relationships with our customers as Domenick once did in that first 20' by 20' office.